Our Team

Home Progress

Core Team

Owens Daniels

Lead Artist

Beverly Watson

“Katie B” Reunion Liason

Betsy Towns

Project Director

Alex Fuentes

Lead Documentarian

Jasmine Huff

Web & Communication Coordinator

Raven Golston

Archive Intern

Thank You!

Present Absence would not be possible without the help and guidance of many members of the “Katie B” Alumni, The Winston Salem African American Archive, MUSE Winston Salem, The University of North Carolina School of the Arts, Winston-Salem State University and many dedicated community members and leaders. The core team would like to thank the following individuals for their help making this project possible. We are beyond grateful for the community support and sustaining friendships.

Archive & History Team

  • Billy Rich, Winston Salem African American Archive
  • Lester Davis, Winston Salem African American Archive
  • Joycelyn Johnson, Former City Council Member, Creative Corridors MLK Leader
  • Cynthia Villagomez, Chair, WSSU History and Justice Studies
  • Mike Wakeford, Interim Executive Director, MUSE Winston-Salem, UNCSA Liberal Arts
  • Tanya Walker, WSSU English Department, CDI HeART Studio Co-Director
  • Tramaine Grey, UNCSA Design and Production Student, Students of Color Co-Chair; Student Coordinator Fleming El-Amin, Forsyth County Commissioner David Finn, Public Art Commission Chair, WFU Professor of Art Kristen Haaf, Creative Corridors Coalition Chair

Design & Materials Team

  • Marvette Aldrich, Artist and NC A&T Faculty Member
  • Kelly Bennett, City of Winston Salem, Public Art Commission Liaison
  • Cliff Dossell, Director of Exhibitions, SECCA
  • Greg Errett, Creative Corridors MLK Project Leader, formerly, City of Winston-Salem
  • Perry Clark, Allegra Winston-Salem
  • Karen Salinas, photographer, blogger, community organizer
  • Damon L. Sanders-Pratt, Deputy County Manager
  • James Anderson Jr Design and Construction Manager at Forsyth County

Community Engagement Team

  • Mollye Maxner, UNCSA School of Drama Faculty
  • Annette Scippio, WS City Council Member
  • Russ Smith, CDI Spatial Justice Studio Director, WSSU Urban Studies
  • Cheryl Harry, Founder & Director, Triad Cultural Arts